GRAVESHADOW Bring The Epic And Symphonic On New Album ‘The Uncertain Hour’

The Sacramento-based quintet GRAVESHADOW – who deftly mixes symphonic/gothic metal with elements and influences from a variety of styles to create something epic, progressive, melodic, and powerful – release their long-anticipated new effort ‘The Uncertain Hour’ on CD, limited-edition vinyl and digital formats.

“Can’t believe we are here,” claims guitarist William Lloyd Walker. “It’s been a challenging road but I’m incredibly proud to finally release ‘The Uncertain Hour’ for everyone to hear. This group has come together so well on a creative and personal level. I can’t wait to see what the future holds!”

GRAVESHADOW’s third album, ‘The Uncertain Hour,’ was produced by Miss May I guitarist Justin Aufdemkampe (Clutch, War of Ages), mastered by Alberto De Icaza (Crobot, Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist), and features artwork by Roman Ismaylov (Battle Beast, Beast In Black). It sees a new lineup for GRAVESHADOW now augmented by the newfound energy that has been brought into the band by the soaring melodic performance of new vocalist Rachl “Raxx” Quinn and the rumbling rhythm section of new bassist Luci Rae and new drummer Bones Padilla. The returning guitar duo of William Lloyd Walker and Aaron Robitsch once again deliver a beautiful display of guitar histrionics that tastefully mixes searing shred with warm melody, while Aaron even adds some harsh backing vocals. Graveshadow is back on the scene with a story to tell. Intertwining melodic highs and crushing lows to sweep listeners away on a journey of self-discovery, loss, and the will to carry on.

Jewelcase CDs and limited-edition vinyl (200 copies) of ‘The Uncertain Hour’ are available in stores or can be ordered online from, as well as digital downloads/streaming.

Three digital singles and videos have been released in the buildup for the album. The first taste of new music from the reformed lineup came with The Witcher-inspired song “Gwynnebleidd” way back in May 2020. It proved the revamped quintet could create new music and be accepted by their existing fanbase and a new audience. Collaborating on more new music further sessions continued and were evidenced by “Soldier Of 34” and “The Swordsman” (the latter even featuring guest vocals from Chelsea Murphy of Dawn of Ouroboros, Cailleach Calling, and Tegmentum)

Additionally, GRAVESHADOW kicks off a headlining run of west coast shows tonight supported by labelmates, Portland’s VINTERSEA who bring their blackened progressive metal to the mix.

GRAVESHADOW “The Uncertain Hour Tour 2022” Dates (w/VINTERSEA):
7/15 – Barmageddon – Tulare, CA
7/16 – The Viper Room – Los Angeles, CA with Novareign
7/17 – Brick by Brick – San Diego, CA
7/19 – Elbo Room Jack London – Oakland, CA
7/20 – Old Nick’s Pub – Eugene, OR
7/21 – Funhouse Seattle – Seattle, WA
7/22 – Dante’s – Portland, OR
7/23 – Cafe Colonial – Sacramento, CA

GRAVESHADOW’s previous album, 2018’s ‘Ambition’s Price,’ was given accolades by Metal Utopia for being “a great record with lots of great moments for fans of Nightwish and The Birthday Massacre.” Metal Nation praised ‘Ambition’s Price,’ declaring that “GRAVESHADOW has taken what has become a somewhat complacent and stagnant style of metal and breathed fresh life into it, creating something vibrant and memorable.” The fantastical lyrical themes that were explored by the band on ‘Ambition’s Price’ – their debut record for M-Theory Audio and the follow-up to the group’s incubatory 2015 debut full-length ‘Nocturnal Resurrection’ – were applauded by critics and fans alike. The band followed the release of ‘Ambition’s Price’ by winning over new audiences with extensive touring alongside bands such as Arkona, Sirenia, Exmortus, Night Demon, and Unleash The Archers.

Track Listing:
1.Soldier of 34 (6:04)
2.Gwynnbleidd (4:18)
3.Sea of Apparitions (3:55)
4.The Swordsman (5:28)
5.Vengeance of Envy (3:57)
6.A Beautiful End (4:54)
7.The Betrayer (4:12)
8.Shadow Battles (4:19)
9.The Two Lived (6:45)
10.Damsel’s Finesse (7:05)
Album Length: 51:04

Rachl ‘Raxx’ Quinn – vocals
William Lloyd Walker – guitars
Aaron Robitsch – guitars/keyboards
Luci Rae – bass
Bones – drums